Of Dreams and a Stone Temple

The floors were smooth and cool to the touch. Bare feet tread silently across the foyer and towards the massive bolted doors just past the place where the hallway opened into a larger indoor area.

A torch lit our way, casting shadows on the walls, on the floor, on the barque we carried, and on our faces, which were solemn. We had an important job to do. So much depended on this.

As we approached, a dark, unlit brazier sat starkly against the white stone floors. It looked cold and lonely.

With quiet chants and rhythmic, organized movements of those who carried the barque, the torchbearer touched the flame to the brazier and the fire was alight! The sun was rising! Timed perfectly, natural light began to stream through high-sitting windows and the stone beneath our feet seemed to glitter and shine brilliantly in the light of Ra’s glory.

Once the ritual was concluded, and we could all feel the comforting heat of the sun on our faces and warming the floor beneath us, our priestly procession divided and parted ways, with only a few remaining before the doors as the group retreated with the barque, finishing their ritual for the morning.

After exchanging calm, content looks, and performing the appropriate recitations, together those of us who remained unlocked the doors to the inner sanctum. As I stepped back, the others pulled on the doors, and they swung open before me.

And at last, with a smile, a bow, a prayer, and a bowl of lit incense in my hands, I stepped forward.


Last night I dreamt of priesthood.

Walking through the smooth stone temple was incredible. It was vivid, realistic, and exactly as we know it to have been from historical documentation and archaeological discoveries.

It was beautiful, and so calming. I felt nothing but happiness as I performed the sanctification ritual and other, smaller ones throughout the dream-day. I had a smile on my face one hundred percent of the time. The leopard skin felt at home on my shoulders.

I shall speak to Netjer about this matter, and perhaps find answers.

Text © Iaret-Wadjythotep, June 2018

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑